Piano recital by Piotr Anderszewski

Concertgebouw, Bruges

On 19 November 2010, Piotr Anderszewski gave a recital of music by Bach and Schumann at the Bruges Concertgebouw.

Introduction in Dutch by Jan Christiaens at 19:15  
Concert began at 20:00  
Price: 20 €  

On the programme:
Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
- Suite anglaise n° 5 in E minor, BWV 810
- Suite anglaise n° 6 in D minor, BWV 811
Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
- Gesänge der Frühe, opus 133
- Sechs kanonische Studien, Op. 56, in an arrangement by Piotr Anderszewski

Here is what Concertgebouw has to say on its Internet site:
‘As far as Piotr Anderszewski is concerned, the fact that Johann Sebastian Bach never got the chance to play on a concert grand should not stop us from using it to express the essence and timelessness of his music. In this recital, the star Polish pianist brings together two of Bach’s Suites anglaises and the almost surreal and visionary beauty of Robert Schumann’s Gesang der Frühe. As a student, Schumann developed a passion for Bach’s piano music, which he defined as his ‘best possible grammar’. It was based on this that he found the criteria for his idea of masterful composition. Not content to merely admire the virtuoso and extremely varied polyphonic style, he defined Bach’s fugues as ‘character pieces of the highest kind’. The way in which Bach manages to describe the most varied of feelings within the strict confines of the fugue definitely influenced Schumann’s Romantic works for piano.’

Concert organised as part of the Brugge Centraal festival. Click HERE to go to the page on the event.
The Cultural Service of the Polish Embassy in Belgium is participating in the Brugge Centraal festival by directing collaborating on the following exhibitions : ‘Luc Tuymans: Point de vue sur l'Europe central/The Reality of the lowest rank’ (click HERE) and ‘Van Eyck à Dürer/Van Eyck to Dürer’ (click HERE).


FrançaisFrançais NederlandsNederlands EnglishEnglish